We Should Hang Out Sometime by Josh Sundquist

21822422

Genre: Young Adult/ Memoir

Rating: 3/5

Summary: Josh Sundquist is a 25-year-old a68d74760-eacb-49db-a3d3-ac2af3b332e8mputee and cancer survivor. He is a famous YouTube star, a Paralympic skiier, and   an inspirational speaker. However, Josh has only had one girlfriend, and it only lasted for 23 hours in the 8th grade. This novel is an autobiographical account of Josh’s reflections and experiences with women and relationships from childhood until today. He uses simple hand-drawn graphs to visually depict his shortcomings and analysis on why his dating life has been so unsuccessful.

9780316251013_p8_chart-300x227

Thoughts: For me, this book was just okay. At first, I was very amused by Sundquist’s first person stories about his dating struggles, but eventually I became bored. The book is merely a compilation of Josh’s dating failures that follow the same pattern of insecurity, misinterpretation/miscommunication, and finally disappointment for Sundquist. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the graphs that were placed throughout the book. I thought they brought a dry humor to the story. In addition, Sundquist is an inspirational figure and the parts about overcoming cancer and living life as an amputee made the most lasting impression on me. Overall, the book was a light-hearted, easy read that I got through quickly, but it wasn’t anything special. 12443604

Quotes: 

“But here’s the problem with scripts. They work great in movies. In life? Not so much.”

“When I was twenty-five years old, it came to my attention that I had never had a girlfriend. At the time, I was actually under the impression that I was in a relationship, so this bit of news came as something of a shock.”

“Just because we don’t get the answers we’re looking for doesn’t mean they aren’t answers nonetheless.”

Recommendations: All The Bright Places, Why Men Love Bitches

Leave a Reply

